Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...A change of pace...

I betcha didn't figure this for mine when you saw it, did you? I am constantly in awe of the amazing flower photos that I see here on Blip and I thought I would try to my hand at one today. As most of you know, I'm more of a "things-with-eyes" photographer, but I do love flowers, landscapes, seascapes, portraits and the myriad of other wonderful things I see here on a daily basis. And sometimes I like to just do something a little different. (Yes, some of you may recall the recent foray I made into beefcake...) I've no doubt that I will be back to something more familiar tomorrow.

Today, however, you get one of the dahlia in my garden. This is the first year I've tried my hand at growing dahlias and I must say that I LOVE them. The type I have are smallish, only about 2-3 inches across, but they've been prolific bloomers all summer. I will definitely grow them again next year! As for this shot, I used Big Daddy and a tripod (my hands are killing me right now, really needed to NOT be hefting the camera). Then I cropped it, converted it to b/w, added some highlights and shadows and, presto! I'm sure someone who actually knew what the hell they are doing with editing could really make this sizzle, but this is about all I have in my bag of tricks. :)

Saw two hummer this morning, but nothing this afternoon when I was out working in the garden ... so yesterday may have been my last hummer of the season. Sigh. Lots of other birds, though. And, I just want to give you a heads up that this fall/winter is going to bring some BIG surprises on the bird scene on Tallyho. Sorry, can't tell you any more than that... top secret... on a need-to-know-basis...

Sorry for being a slackard with comments this weekend. The wedding yesterday kind of knocked the stuffing out of me and I am still a bit fatigued. Tomorrow should be much better!

Waiting for a call-back from Giselle regarding the status of Hope the Finch. Will update you all tomorrow - let's hope it is good news.

Happy Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.