Tiny Tuesday : : Five Gold Rings

I wear all five of these wedding rings all the time. Since  the day after tomorrow is our anniversary, it seemed appropriate to try and photograph them for today's challenge. 

The three on the left are actually four, but two of them were fused together many rears ago to prevent them rubbing each other out of existence. The one with the stone was my engagement ring, the one fused to it is my wedding ring. It was engraved on the inside: JHA to JEA 6/29/1963, but the date has all but rubbed away.The top left ring was my grandmother's wedding ring. It is beautifully engraved inside: RVE to AMcDV  May 14 1902. The bottom ring was my mother's. On the inside of it is engraved: RVE - LRB May 14 1938. I love being to wear these rings, reminders of three loving and lasting marriages,  The other ring on the right was a gift from OilMan on our 25th anniversary.

The first problem, since I practically never take them off, was getting them off my fingers It took  a fair amount of lotion before I could work them off over my knuckles. Hope I can get them back on again....

The second problem, once I got them off, was the fact that it didn't take even macro photography to reveal that they were filthy. It must be because I never take them off. I gave them a thorough brushing with toothpaste and my electric toothbrush (with a separate head dedicated to jewelry cleaning) but they really need to go to the jeweler for whatever steam cleaning, ultrasonic magic they perform on them.

isbi is right...photographing jewelry isn't easy (although in my case, not necessarily for the reasons she may have thought). I did also have problems with light, the proper surface (all of which were also in need of cleaning) and  having enough hands to hold the camera and the props. In the end the simplest solution was also the easiest, but it took awhile...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.