Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Life on the Gladiolas

I had to chuckle when I looked out this morning and spotted this little male ruby-throated hummingbird (Attila the Hummie) perched on top of one of the gladiolas on a pot on the patio.  From his vantage point, he was able to keep his eye on three feeders; launching attacks on the other hummers that were trying to feed.  Of course, while he was off chasing one interloper, four or five others would be at the feeders.  Hey, Life on the Glads can be challenging!

It poured this morning which made for soggy birds.  It was actually raining so hard at one point that I couldn't stay out, even under the gazebo.  So, that seemed a good time to do some cleaning inside.  When the rain diminished to a drizzle, I went out with the camera.  Something about the rain always makes the hummingbirds especially active so I was hard pressed to know where to point my camera.  Although an accurate count is impossible, I believe that we are at about a dozen hummers now, including at least 3 males.  The males will start heading to their wintering grounds in Mexico next month, so they are all about fattening up right now.  

One more hummingbird, in mid-flight, HERE on Flickr

Getting ready for a fun weekend with my besties.  We're celebrating two birthdays (Ellen and Kura) as well as Peg's long-awaited return to the US after 11 (12?) years in China.  Menu is planned, wine is being purchased, and it even looks like the weather will be perfect.  Woohoo!

Happy Friday, people.  And thanks, BikerBear/Anni for hosting FlowerFriday.  Bit of a stretch on the "twist" but I think it works!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.