Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pollinator Week - Flower Longhorn Beetle

I was hoping for a different type of beetle, but I guess I can't really complain about a Flower Longhorn as a blip.  I actually don't know what exact species this is, just that it is in the Subfamily Lepturinae, and if I had to guess, I'd say Genus Typocerus.  Flower longhorns are very good pollinators as the adults visit flowers to feed on pollen and nectar.  This time of year, they can often be found involved in hanky-panky - alas, this one was solo.

We had a mass exodus of Hickory Tussock Moth caterpillars crossing the driveway this morning - quite a sight and thank goodness Hubs spotted them.  Two photos on Flickr, starting HERE - a flying caterpillar and my friendly garden spider who's growing two new legs.  Cool.

Lots of errands today and now Hubs and I are off to attend a "Heart Attack Party" for a friend who survived a heart attack over 20 years ago.  

Raccoon Update:  Another night with no disturbances on the patio, so maybe the hot pepper flakes are working.  On the flip side Mama Bear and her cubs were sniffing around the patio around 5 last night, giving us both a bit of a start as we weren't expecting them around in broad daylight.  Mama was after the bird feeders, it seems.  One blast of the air horn sent Mama and cubs up a tree at the edge of the yard, allowing me time to bring the feeders in.  Oy.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.