The second half of life..

By twigs

Tear drop

My 6-weekly hair appointment - yay!!  I do love the enforced relaxation my appointment brings and today was no different.  Except that today was different.........

A bombshell.........

D, who has cut my hair every 6 or 7 weeks for the past 20 odd years, shared with me her new plans.  She and her partner have had some big changes recently - both home and work - and so I guess I shouldn't have been surprised when she told me they were about to add another big change.......moving up to Auckland.  They have some plans to build a new and exciting life on a lifestyle block up there, with house built by her partner.  She has just got a new job working at (what sounds like) a pretty top-notch salon so things are sounding pretty exciting for them......

For me though, (and her other dozens and dozens of clients too I'm sure), we'll miss her big time.  Not just the hair cuts and the pampering but the chats, the laughs, the fun......

I found saying goodbye harder than it should have been.  I arrived at my usual time for my usual hair cut and colour and left just a few hours later with a heavy heart and no idea who I'll be seeing in 6 or 7 weeks time. 

It's been very interesting watching my reaction to this all unfold.  It was a very subdued drive home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.