Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Comma in Pink

I've been kept on my toes for the past few days! This evening I posted this photo, then decided it was time to flake for a while.

Maera had to go back to the vet. Another injection and a few hours later she drank a bit and eventually ate a square inch of chicken. Thankfully, this evening she is looking a little better and has been game for another tempting morsel. Most of the dogs I've had have been sick from time to time but, as she is never been ill, I was more concerned than normal. Until now, Maera's only real necessity for a vet was when, at 10 weeks old, she found and ate a few blocks of rat bait. I'm sure the ketamine she was administered left her hyperactive for life, but she survived! Thank you all for your well wishes.

Although there are still many flowers in the garden, the Fleabane has to be the wildlife magnet for excellence. I could blip the flowers every day and not run out of wildlife on them. I was torn between a Gatekeeper and this Comma. Or should I have blipped the Bumble bees or the Hoverflies? I don't know why I chose this one.

Why is this plant called a Fleabane?
This is a cultivated version of the wild plant, but the smoke from burning Fleabane was, and is still in places, used to repel insects, especially fleas.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.