Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Drops of Rain

The day could't be more dismal! The rain started early in the morning and hasn't stopped since. I took a cup of tea back to bed and decided to stay there as long as I could.

A phone call from Peter requesting his favourite foods, cream and cake, brought me to reality. What do people do on Sundays when it's tipping down. Yes, they go shopping!

It took a hateful half hour and a good bit to do the short diversion to the supermarket for 3 items. When you are 90 years of age, have already spent too long under the regime of hospital food and have no will to eat other, it would be foolish to deny the pleasantries of life over the quality of food. I do wonder though, if his daily requests are not more in the way of research, for the assurance that I am at the end of the phone for him.

I had aimed to go to a Ploughing Match and Country Fair at Loseley this afternoon. The flooded roads convinced me to avoid it. I had taken the camera in preparation, but arrived at the house instead, parked up and this was the view of my garden through the windscreen, combined with the signs of the torrential raindrops as they made contact. Meara's much better but is not getting a walk today! I'm cruel, but the garden will have to suffice both dogs today. Double rations tomorrow as a treat.

Roast in the oven and the fire alight for the first time. It's is a comfort thing, too warm but so good this evening. Now heading for an easy chair and an overdose of TV.

It's that sort of day.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.