New friend

A lovely day in Edinburgh and spent much of it out in the garden. All my activity pulling up plants and digging over the ground attracted the attention of this little guy. Couldn't believe how close it was prepared to come to me in its quest for food. Of course when I got my camera it never came quite as close again and kept moving about, so it wasn't easy getting a good shot while I continued working. Made me think of David Lack's great monograph, The Life of the Robin. Written in 1943 it remains one of the best books on any British bird. Lack was born over a hundred years ago, and died relatively young aged just 62 in 1973. Wikipedia says his book on finches on the Galapagos Islands was his most important work, but I always associate him with his work on the Robin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.