Thinning

The day dawned clear and very chilly here, but once the sun had warmed the air it was a brilliant day to be out and about. The cricket season proper has finished but there was one last bash today, a 12 over a side tournament between three teams of players within the club, plus the addition of a few ringers. And a bash it was. It seems all very serious at the player auction, and in the lead up to the event, but one the alcohol starts to flow, which it does from very early on, it all descends into chaos. I saw Forrest play two cameos with the bat, scoring twenty odd in each innings off not many deliveries. I would dearly have loved, just once in my life, to have hit a six as big and as sweet as he struck a couple today. Sadly, I was never a batsman, and never powerful enough.

I've got the Ilkley Triathlon tomorrow so I couldn't afford to tire myself out with a long bike ride or run today. I had a spin up the Dale to Burnsall and back, to try to loosen the legs up a little. I think they are still in shock from the fell race last weekend! It was another great day for photography. This thin stand of pines is at the end of a plantation beside the road near Burnsall Fell. They are logging here so I'm not sure how much longer these trees will be standing so I'm posting this as a record in case I don't get another chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.