Rombalds Sunset

Thanks for all the comments on my story of yesterday. Yes, I am pretty hopeless, but there were also considerable extenuating circumstances!

I've been back in the old routine today, catching up with what's been going on while I've been away and getting back into the swing of things again. It's now going to be a very hard push to the end of October, the next big deadline, and there is a lot to do. Perhaps it's that thought that has led me to feel so tired today. It could also be that TJ has simply worn me out!

It's been a mostly miserable day, feeling very cold, but the clouds did clear in the evening to reveal quite a pretty if not spectacular sunset. The sun will soon start setting behind the moor and before I get back from work so I'd best make the most of these opportunities while I can.

Spent some time with neglected No.1 son this evening, watching a silly superhero film. The special effects were utterly incredible but I still had trouble staying awake. It's led me to think that we're creating a huge problem here in terms of film-making, especially when it comes to fantasy and science fiction. Expectations are now so high that the computer generated graphics has to be mind-blowingly good to satisfy the young audiences brought up on this stuff - and therefore also fantastically expensive to produce. With that sort of investment required the studios can't afford to take risks.

They don't feel like they can take a chance on a story which is more about character and plot than action. They inevitably end up playing safe by sticking to franchises and proven formulas. But I think those formulas are getting very tired. I suppose things will change when these blockbusters stop providing a return on the investment. I love immersing myself in the futuristic worlds that can be now created, with pixel by pixel perfection, but I really want a story that will be equally engaging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.