Bush Clematis or Puawhanga

Scientific name: Clematis paniculata
Maori name: Puawhanga

The end of our 'wee break' away and this flower has caught my eye on many occasions. Sometimes I've seen it high up in the canopy of our native trees, I've looked down from above seeing a small bit of white amongst all the green or its been right beside the gravel roads as we've been driving along, sometimes theres lots of it and other times just small patches - I couldn't go home without getting a blip, I knew it had to be special to New Zealand.

The books tell me its endemic, found on all islands in lowland and lower montane forests. Flowers are large, to 100mm, white and six-petalled in large panicles, flowering in early spring.

The colour was beautiful with its pristine white petals and delightful centre and I couldn't believe my eyes :)

Mum loves clematis and I know had she been beside me, like she is so often on our blip adventures, she would've been quite excited - this one is for you Mum, and to more blip adventures together eh :))

What a great time away Hubby and I had exploring a part of New Zealand which is new to both of us. The weather didn't play its part, there were no sunrises or sunsets but I managed to capture just a little bit of mood here and there. Anyone travelling to Farewell spit soon, look out for the Kereru, the tuis in the kowhai trees and this pretty bush clematis - all treasures of New Zealand.

Thanks so much for all of your positive and warm words, hearts and stars for this 'wee break' hubby and I have had, I hope you enjoyed the links :)

I guess it will be garden blips and spring shots from here on in and lots of catching up with more backblips and commenting, looking forward to catching up with you all :))

Bush Clematis 1

Bush Clematis 2

Bush Clematis 3

Our 'wee Break' shots start here

Or separately:
Sunset over Motueka Harbour

Kereru

Wharariki Beach

Tui in a Kowhai Tree

Old Wharf

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.