Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hemaris Diffinis

We are lucky to have two species of clearwing moths in the Hemaris Genus that fly here.  The more common is the Hummingbird Clearwing Moth (H. thysbe) that I blipped last Sunday, HERE.  This specimen, the Snowberry Clearwing Moth (H. diffinis) is one that I see much less frequently, although it is a reliable visitor each summer in my garden.  

So, although I just blipped a clearwing moth a few days ago, I wanted to capture this one in my journal this year.  I won't see many more this year as fall draws nearer.  For me, the easiest way to distinguish this diffinis from it's close relative is to look at the face - diffinis has a black "mask", or line through it's eye.  When viewed from the side, it makes identification very easy.

Things on my butterfly bush are hopping right now and I was sorely tempted to blip this shot of a monarch and a clearwing moth sharing a spike of flowers.  There were 4 monarchs nectaring in the garden this morning; one then set about depositing her eggs all over my tiny milkweed seedlings.  I'll be gathering them all later today or first thing in the morning.  Birth-haven continues.

Speaking of monarchs, I will be caterpillar-sitting for a friend this weekend as she and her husband travel to visit family.  They very kindly let me snip as much milkweed as I need from their organic farm to feed my little monarch cats, so I'm delighted to be able to repay them in some small way.  And, maybe I'll get around to getting a semi-accurate count of my own caterpillars soon...  I scooped up two more tiny cats from the post of milkweed on my deck today - amazing I spotted the little things.

Good visit with MIL today - she was in good spirits.  She doesn't remember that her daughter is living here now, but everytime I tell her, I know it brings her peace of mind.

Thank you so much for sending my monarch chrysalis to the Pops page!  I'll have to blip one of the fresh green chrysalises soon - they look so lovely with their gold bling.

Peace, out.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.