What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Olive Grove fire, Tuscany

Please view this large and the associated link too.

Today started badly, early start to photograph the sunrise over vineyards, when a gorgeous kitten came to see us, got spooked by a passing lorry and ran into the road to get hit by a car. I was the one to carry it to the edge of the road and stroke it for it's last breaths, it's a tought thing to do, and I had some pretty sad guests after that!

Relocated to St Quirico for breakfast and more street photography. After lunch, we moved to another location which offers views over Pienza, and also of this great hill and olive grove.

On the way home, slightly worried to see smoke nesr to Jimmy's place; then found it was an olive grove that had gone up. Fortunately the wind was blowing away from us, but we did have an evening of fire engines everywhere, and helicopters picking up water from a nearby lake to drop on the fire. Had the wind changed, it would have been serious for us. I dashed through another olive grove to get to the edge of the fire and shot off a few photos, although I'm pretty sure I shouldn't have been there! I did like the fireman with his "little" hose in the bottom right of the picture - gave a scale to the enourmity of the fire.

Really not sure which of the two photos to put up, but the number of times I see a real live serious fire will, I hope be rare, and was a significant end to the day. If you make enough comments, I might change the pic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.