Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Job done

Gym (doing well this week), then a couple of sessions editing the holiday video - I'm still cutting it down to a more reasonable length. While I could watch elephants playing in the water, or giraffes fighting, all day, I can't really expect others with busy lives to do so. I've now got it down from over 100 minutes to 31 riveting minutes.

JR went off to her executive housekeeping, and Archie and I walked down to the local hardware shop to buy a new rope for the pulley. I've had to re-rope it three times over the almost four years we've been here, and each time it's worn out and indeed on one occasion broke and crashed to the floor, making a little puppy Archie flee for his life. He still rushes from the kitchen if the pulley is coming down.

But now I've worked out how to rope it correctly. Though I had to go to the shop twice because I carefully measured the old one, but amazingly enough, it was too short!

I then gave Archie a haircut and JR gave him a bath, so he looks very smart. This is a famous fish shop near the hardware shop. On Saturdays it's mobbed!

A touch of autumn in the air - yes, my hat has made its first appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.