Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Surfers off St. Kilda Beach

September has been a roller coaster ride. Between the cresting highs and lows I find moments of calm whenever I can. Even here in the city the wild ocean is never far away. This beach, St. Kilda, is just down the road from our house and I come here often.

Many others come for the same reasons as me - to escape. There are families that gather on the beach, people walking dogs or pushing baby strollers, runners, and surfers. The surf here is massive too - enormous waves slam onto this beach after journeying thousands of miles of ocean. The booming breaks and curls of the waves dwarfs the local surfers sometimes and I almost cringe at the pummeling they endure in the eternal search for the perfect wave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.