Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Self Portrait on the Otago Peninsula

I haven't done one of these for awhile, so this is for all my friends and family that check in on me from time to time. I'm still here - healthy, young, active and outside.

Like today. It was gorgeous and sunny so I journeyed to Mount Cargill, the highest point around Dunedin looking down on the city and the peninsula beyond. I hiked to a place called the Organ Pipes that is a geologic phenomena of columnar igneous rock tumbling down from a cliff face like gold bars. I spent some time on top of Mount Cargill looking down on the city and as dusk set I stopped at the wetlands of Orokonui watching marsh hens forage in the twilight.

As the day turned to night I parked myself down by Long Beach near where I used to live in Osborne land. I wandered the surf line as the stars came out and fell asleep to the sound of the surf in my ears...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.