Stained glass?

No, damselflies mating - is there no privacy!! I just love that little segment of red.
Another glorious day - warm, sunny and altogether uplifting. The trouble with this good weather is you don't stop! This morning I planted garlic and onions in the polytunnel, then started to tackle the fruit cages. These lie on bog and although we originally covered the whole area with mypex (black plastic with teeny holes) and bark chips, the bog has encroached vigorously. To say I was weeding makes it sound rather genteel - it wasn't - huge clumps of bog grass had to be ripped up, as did the saplings of goat wilow and the ubiquitous brambles. Being bog, it's very wet and very smelly.
Himself was inside tackling the immersion - successful but putting everything back is proving challenging. We decided to head out to the end to walk to the lighthouse. I put on my walking sandals. Himself advised boots.
Did I listen? No.
Was I shredded? yes.
Will I learn? No.
Stubborn as a mule? Yes.
Moving swiftly on. We got sidetracked in trying to reach a group of ruined cottages half way up the mountain. They were quite large and surrounded by the traces of fields but everywhere we went we met bog, gorse, ravines, streams. We yomped around for a bit more then conceded defeat and headed to Bernie's cafe - conveniently situated at the end or start of the walk depending on which way you look at it. A rather bracing tea and fruit cake was taken, admiring views out to America.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.