Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Dilemma ...

I spent a couple of hours photographing one of the pony herds this morning - sheer magic. I think almost every mare in the herd had a foal, and the stallion was watching over them all. To be able to observe the interactions between mares, foals and the stallion was magical and fascinating. And, by mid-afternoon, I was certain that I had my Blip.

So, feeling no pressure at all, hubs and I headed to the beach to see if we (I)could find some shorebirds. What I was not expecting was to find hundreds (probably thousands)of monarchs settling into big shrubs to roost. The barrier island of Assateague is on their migratory path and during the day, I’d seen many soaring and drifting overhead. I was completely unprepared to see them hanging like fall leaves from every shrub along the edges of the beach.

So, how could this not be my Blip today? As hubs and I stood less than 6 feet from this patch of goldenrod, more and more monaches arrived, jostling to find space, looking like the most brilliant bits of stained glass, blowing about n the ocean breeze. An utterly amazing experience.

I will put a couple of my favorite shots from the herd in Extra - enjoy.

Thank you for all the love and generous comments these past few days. I’ll be returning to normal life tomorrow, but with many wonderful memories.

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.