Archway Rocks

We were on a mission today - our plan was a late walk in to Wharariki and some sunset photos of the beach and rocks. In the end we went earlier, and just as well too. We walked through hail and rain and howling winds, and into windblown sand that I think was strong enough to sandblast my glasses and our camera lenses.

Worth it though and just as well we went earlier than intended because there's no way there was going to be a sunset today in that storm. It was still after 6 before we got back out to the car but we felt that it had been worth it - and we stopped off at the Brigand in Takaka for tea which we felt we'd earned.

Kudos goes to Kiwilizzie who, at various times over the past 6 months, has suggested I get both walking poles and tramping shoes. As I am well-behaved and always do as I'm told, I'd followed her advice. It surely made today's trek easier. So, thanks Liz!

This morning, knowing that we were going to expend much energy this afternoon, we went for a pleasant wee wander to Waikoropupu springs where I got some delightful photos of fantails and of a tui feeding on native clematis. One of those days when the choice of blip is really really hard. So I've put some photos on my Flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.