afterthoughts

By afterthoughts

In praise of railway stations

Railway stations are seldom dull, never easy and often highly taxing venues. Yet they constantly thrust new faces, fresh experiences, stories worth telling in our path. The 19th century charm of steam and porters has been lost perhaps but they are still places I love. This one at Linz in Austria has always been a favourite. I'm not sure if this shot is part of the station itself ...or if one is not already in the outer areas where transport and city streets come together. The steps you see lead up to the main road.
I took other shots in the 8-10 minutes I had there while waiting for my ICE to Passau. Among them photographs of a very friendly teenager of Turkish extraction who spoke very good German and with whom I had a great conversation. I had to choose between the best shot I took of him and the one you see. Sometimes one photo a day is simply not enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.