Friday: Cyclotron

I have no head for science whatsoever.........the only one I can vaguely get is biology because it's real and tangible, but the rest is just alien to me. So feel free to hoot when I tell you that I spent this afternoon at the largest particle cyclotron in the world, talking about nuclear and particle physics, and isotopes. Well, everyone else was talking about them - I just nodded sagely.

The calibre of this thing and its team is amazing. Part of the team were invited to present to the Nobel Committee a few years ago. They have the ability to weigh an atom that exists for less than a second and analyse data from Mars. And yet the back of it is just a jumbly mess of wires......

I think I need to go and lie in a dark room now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.