History

The tiny cottage speaks of local history, the wooden-reel picnic table and faded sun umbrella juxtapose nicely!

I notice this tiny workers  cottage every time I drive up the Waitaki Valley but have never taken the time to stop before.  Today I pulled over to take a phone call and just happened to be in sight of it so I had to get out, in the pouring rain, to capture it.

This morning the rain started just as I finished packing up the van to head home.  I had planned to stop near Waimate to do a bush walk - where I'd been assured I would see tui and bellbirds.  The rain put paid to that idea so I considered going home through Pukaki and Tekapo, but in the end decided that the Waimate road would be quieter so stuck with that part of the plan.

I didn't have breakfast and thought I'd have a coffee and a bite in Kurow but wasn't really feeling like it when I got there.  Never mind, I decided I'd stop in Waimate for an early lunch instead.  But when I got to Waimate they had the whole main street closed off, so I didn't bother stopping there either. As I drove on I thought maybe I'd stop at the cafe on the intersection with the Waimate turnoff and main road but when I got there their car park was absolutely packed.  On I went.

Didn't bother stopping in Timaru.  Home for a late lunch instead.

Lots of 'buts' in today's journey, but a nice drive home all the same.  

One of the thoughts I had as I was driving was that I could clean out my freezers when I got home.  Random thought I know.  It stuck with me so after unpacking the van and refilling its water tanks, I tackled the freezer.  Out of date goods now in the rubbish bin for collection tomorrow, everything I kept is in better order, and I actually know what's in there for a change.  Job well done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.