neoreoscar

By neoreoscar

Elusive poultry

I had planned to show you my beautiful new chooks, which arrived last week. Alas, they are still to scared to come remotely near me, and I don't want to chase them and compound their fear further. So instead it's a waiting game.

The existing chooks (2 out of 3 only left - R.I.P. Vera) Mavis and Elsie, are most indignant that their garden has been invaded by these, well, invaders. They squawk and trumpet to alert me to their presence, demanding that I immediately do something about it. But instead I just tell them off. Like that'll help. Neighbour thinks I'm a fruit-loop.

So, my new ladies (Hilda, Betty, and Blanche)(there's a theme - did you notice?) will just have to learn that I am the Food Master and not the Chook Killer. Shame I can't pick them up and tell them how beautiful they are. (And they are). I will endeavour to get a decent shot of them at some point to show you. Best not hold your breath, though.....

By the way, the photo is of Mavis (old girl), the most trumpety of the old girls. She comes up to the patio doors and squawks until I provide her with food. Or yet another telling-off for the noise (Usually the latter).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.