neoreoscar

By neoreoscar

Brave

Hard time today choosing a photo. I chose this one in the end, not because it was the best one of the day but it makes me smile every time I look at it.

This wee cutie belongs to an old school friend. One who I hadn't seen in the past 25 years or so until last week. We've been friends on Facebook and caught up with each others' stories that way, then I was pet-sitting their guinea pigs while they were away on holiday.

Evelyn has a big brother. He is a sensitive soul, scared and worried about lots of things. I wish I could take it away for him. Evelyn is quite the opposite. She is a warrior who strides into new experiences with enthusiasm and bravery beyond her years. I am much more like her brother - was, in fact, as a child. But I admire Evelyn's spirit!

It amazes me that two siblings can be so different despite the same home environment. Even my oldest nephews - twins, are poles apart personality-wise.

My own sister and I used to fight like cat and dog when young, but have grown ever closer and more alike in our adult years, and especially since mum died. We cling to each other, knowing we're all we have left :)

Flame-haired, beautiful Evelyn. I wonder what story she will write with her life?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.