Skip's Blips

By Skip

Heat wave!

Gulliver, on his favorite looking-out-the-front-window perch, cast this baleful look at me, and I could almost hear him begging: Can't I please go out and play in the snow? I know you don't want to go out. I know you think it's too cold, but I could have such fun. I could follow the deer tracks, stick my nose in the snow, kick up my heels, and fly around the yard. You can stay inside and just watch out the window, but I wanna go out! Puh-leeze! And anyway I have to pee! So I said, "Want to go out, Gully?" And opened the door.

We had a heat wave today. The temperature early this morning was minus one degree, but currently the thermometer reads 22 degrees. However, figuring in the wind chill, the "feels like" temperature is still in the single digits, and most of the afternoon and evening the snow has been blowing. When I opened the door for Gulliver, I had to hold tight to the handle as the wind tried to whip it out of my hand. Gulliver was right; I didn't want to go out. But still, it's an improvement over yesterday when the actual high temperature was only four degrees above zero!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.