Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Autumn Lovers

Sentimental Musings . . . 

Today on my walk, I noticed so many older couples holding hands, kissing, hugging.  I brought so much joy to my heart.  Of course, I am feeling a bit lonely right now since my better half is still 1000 miles away in Colorado.  He's working hard to get things pack up in our RV and shed for the move back to Nevada.  Maintaining two homes is too costly.  

Back to my musings . . . I talked with this one couple (I knew her from before).  He was obviously smitten with her and she with him.  They had both lost their spouses to cancer and had met each other in a grief recovery group.   Now they were "exploring the relationship".   My advice, enjoy but take your time.  

As we parted and I walked away, I noticed them huddled together by the pond and I could not resist.  

It also made me a little sad as I recently got news from some very dear friends that "R" has been diagnosed with acute leukemia.  They were so surprised when the initial test results came back from a general physical.  "R" is a very healthy man.  The only treatment is chemotherapy and a bone marrow transplant.  From my short time as a cancer researcher  during grad school,  I know probably more than most do about the leukemia.  I know that he has a long fight ahead of him.  What I was gratified to hear, however, is that they were making plans for the future.  They may not know the exact dates, but they are still dreaming and making plans.  The power of having an optimistic outlook is amazing!  

Perhaps all of this is making me a bit introspective as I go in tomorrow morning for my general physical.  Hmmm . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.