The second half of life..

By twigs

Whitebaiting

Woke early but didn't get up for another hour or so - the temperature felt very low (mental note - don't leave little windows open in van overnight!) Still managed to get away at a decent hour with the goal of returning to Mokihinui to see the whitebaiters do their thing. The trip back was somewhat uneventful and the weather had a very West Coast feel to it - wet, windy and cold which did not make me feel much like getting out and about. I did note though there are plenty of things to do in this neck of the world so am adding a return trip to my 'must do' list.

Made it to Mokihinui in time to catch a host of whitebaiters on the river trawling for the wee slivers of gold. Had a chat with Eric and Robynne who I met yesterday and they introduced me to a few of the follks who, it seems, are 'regulars' and meet up once a year to trawl this river in the hope of catching a good few pounds of this local delicacy.

This chap is one such fisherman. A local, by all accounts, with a tendency to keep pretty much to himself. He reminded me a lot of an old salt from a children's book - heaps of character written into his weathered and craggy face.

The thing with the weather being wild, wet and windy (it's got gradually worse through the day) is that when I made it to Punakaiki I was hopeful of the blowholes actually blowing! They didn't disappoint :) It was absolutely howling a gale and freezing cold but the huge swell blowing in from the west meant that, for the first time, I actually got to see the blowholes doing their thing! Wow! Such huge forces - booming sounds, sea-swells and sea-spray. It really was worth freezing my butt off for!

Had hoped to drop in to see friends for a cuppa this afternoon but a text from them told me that wee A has suspected whooping cough. Poor wee thing :( I'll steer clear and hope to catch them next time I'm down this way.

So that was today. Despite the weather being anything but nice it's been another truly wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.