Glory Road

Rain was expected to arrive sometime in early evening, but the day looked to be otherwise mostly clear. So I made a couple of chicken sandwiches and we tucked them and a few other items into the cooler, grabbed our chairs and books, and headed for the woods.

My husband jogs about once a week, and he is a fan of running in the woods. So he parked his car in a little parking area in the Moshannon State Forest, not far from Black Moshannon State Park. And he went for a run while I sat in the sun in my chair and finished my book. Upon his return, we enjoyed a tiny picnic in the woods.

The road we took to get there and back again is route 504, between Unionville and Black Moshannon. It is more commonly known by its nickname, Rattlesnake Pike. I don't know the origin of the name; for the record, we have never seen rattlesnakes anywhere along this road. If you can believe it, Wikipedia has an entry for route 504, which includes the following:

"It roughly follows a portion of the path of the historic 1799 State Road from 'Bald Eagle's Nest' (Milesburg) to Fort Le Boeuf (Waterford, PA), which was laid out and cleared under contract with the Pennsylvania Assembly and opened for travel by 1802. The State Road was an important thoroughfare during the War of 1812, and was for many years the primary route for mail, goods, and travelers between Philadelphia and Erie."

So there's a tiny bit of history, in which we all learn that this little winding road in the middle of nowhere was once a main travel route. The foliage colors along this stretch were among some of the best we've seen all fall. My husband was driving, but from the passenger's seat, I had a great view and was able to snap a few photos, including the one above.

I couldn't decide between two songs for my soundtrack today, so I'm including them both. First, of course, is Neil Diamond's Glory Road, to celebrate the glorious foliage show. But to be truthful, the road is long and winding and steep, and full of pot-holes. And those who drive it should exercise due caution. So here is the additional song: the Beatles, with The Long and Winding Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.