A Bench to Sit and Watch the Colors Turn

It's been a week of gorgeous October weather, with blue skies and abundant sunshine. The mornings start out chilly but it's warm by afternoon. The trees are finally turning; the show is a bit late this year.

My husband wanted to go jogging, and he enjoys running in the woods. So we packed a couple of sandwiches and drinks in the cooler, and our chairs, and headed for Black Moshannon.

He parked his car at the top of the ridge, stretched, and jogged out the trail. I grabbed my camera and my book and my chair, and walked as far as I liked, taking my time, taking pictures. Then I sat in the sun and read my book.

We regrouped back at the car later, starving, and decided to head down to the park to have our lunch at a picnic table by the water. When we had decimated the chicken-bacon sandwiches I'd made, and the potato chips and iced tea, we strolled out to the fishing dock/observation platform and had a look around.

A kayaker maneuvered his boat in the distance (out of scene), gold reflected on the still waters. Everything was quiet, peaceful. A pretty bench nearby looked like an inviting place to sit and watch the foliage colors turn on a fine October afternoon.

The soundtrack: the Kinks, with Sitting in the Midday Sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.