The Golden Bike

Forget the bucolic blog I intended as we cycled forth from Longniddry on a 20 mile tour of the lanes and byways around Trabroun, Samuelston, Bolton and Haddington, each little interestingly named hamlet sparkling in the October sunshine.

The world was a symphony in the blues of the sky and the sea, the golds of the fields with the harvest safely stowed, and browns of the newly ploughed fields hedged with clipped hawthorn, sporting bright red berries.

No I would like you to feel the pain when we arrived back at the car, stowed the bikes on the carrier and discovered that his Lordship had managed to lock the car keys in the boot.

I was so tired having not really wanted a cycle run at all, and had been so relieved to see the car. Now I was faced with an uphill 15 mile cycle run home, fuelled by 2 oatcakes and 6 strawberries at breakfast.

Tears of rage and frustration were shed, but there was nothing for it, but to bite the bullet. It's probably just as well there wasn't a gun available or it would have been a solo cycle run back for me.

Well we made it home with 35 miles on the clock and thighs that were vociferous in their complaining.
His Lordship has managed to arrange that his daughter run him back to Longniddry with the spare keys.

And do you know what? The word 'sorry' has never been mentioned by him in relation to the mistake.
I of course, in my rage, uttered many 'sorrys', and I leave you to wonder to what they allude!
No, all I heard was the thought that it was a lovely day for a cycle run........

My world is a symphony of dangerous reds and oranges now!

This golden/orange bike has appeared above a pub in Tollcross. I like to think it's a tribute to Sir Chris Hoy, but who knows. Maybe when the pub is open, I'll ask.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.