Dodging Waves

It's been a lovely sunny day, but very blustery, so I checked the time of the high tide as I wanted to get some shots of the waves, and I also wanted to try driving.  So at lunch time, I drove down into Rottingdean as I needed to collect something from the sorting office, and then drove to the Lido where I parked up and walked to the undercliff walk.  I walked more or less to the end and stood at a safe distance to get my shots.

I watched one particular huge wave that was so high and came right over the walkway, hitting the cliffs.  Unfortunately I didn't capture it as I was using my zoom, and by the time I'd zoomed out, it had already hit the ground. It always amazes me how close people get to the waves, there was a man with a toddler on a balance bike, and she was right by the edge of the walkway by the waves and was ahead of her father, so if anything had happened it would have taken him a while to get to her.  

The two girls in this shot were foreign, and had hired these bikes from the 'Bike Share Scheme'.  At least they could cycle out of danger, but soon after I'd take this shot, they turned round to cycle back and one of them got drenched!  I captured it and took her email address so I can send her the photos.

I walked back to the car, drove to our local shops and then drove home and I'm pleased to say that I was fine - it was actually easier driving than it is walking, although I'm now walking further each day which is great!



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.