Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Meeting the locals

Typing this for the second time as I just lost my entire story for the day, so this is going to be short.

I woke up to a very cold room. -3 through the night - yikes! Up and out to get to Wonersh for 11am, but we went via Guildford High Street and Tesco as I have forgotten a vital bit of kit at home and was on the hunt to replace it. I am fast learning about Sunday trading and timings!

Great service at the URC and we got a really good welcome. Couldn't stay too long after to chat as we had a lunch appointment with KarenC and Alan over at Cowfold. I had never heard of or been through this village, so it was nice to be introduced to somewhere new. The location was chosen as it is almost half way for both of us.

Great to meet Karen and Alan and we enjoyed a very good Sunday lunch at the Hare & Hounds. Glad too for the rain as it brought the temperature up to two digits even though it was just for a few minutes! We came back driving through Cranleigh and Guildford - just to see their lights! A nice quiet evening followed. Got to watch a very interesting program on Charles Dickens' Family Christmas, and in the morning, I got to listen to a very concise and thoughtfully written essay by Rabbi Shoshana Boyd Gelfand called Having Enough! I have to say, some of the media here is excellent! Thank you Radio 4!

My blip was taken at the start of the day, driving along New Road to get to the A25. The car temperature gauge was telling me it was 0degC outside. Brrrr...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.