Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Think Pink!

It is a cold, bluster day and I thought that it might be the perfect day to do a pink blip - one to honor all of the women (and men) who've battled (or are battling) breast cancer, and those who love them. So out I went, camera in hand, close up filter attached, sights set on a pot of pink dahlias on my deck.

You know the drill... down on knees, crouched in front of the subject, moving in for the shot and then .... whoa! Yikes! A yellow jacket wasp - right in front of me! Sh**. Quick scramble backwards, landing on butt, muttering expletives under breath (okay, maybe out loud.) Only to realize that the poor beast was so cold that it could barely lift an antennae in feeble greeting.

Aha! Excellent opportunity to safely photograph the behemoth at close range. I immediately thought of Vodkaman and went into super-stealth mode (okay, the New Jersey version of super-stealth mode, not quite the same as the Bandung version.)

So there you have it - pink. And he is quite nice in fuzzy-headed large!

This morning as I sat in the kitchen with my tea, I saw the following visitors at my feeders:
blue jays
cardinals
hairy woodpecker
downy woodpeckers
goldfinches
house finches
purple finches
pine siskin
titmice
nuthatches
chickadees
chipmunks
grey squirrels

And it must be time to put out the critter cam because something much larger was prowling the deck last night - completely squashing my day lilies.

Hoping you all have a great Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.