Five things

By fivethings

The last stitch

1. I am presenting to imaginary Spanish marketers from pretty early on. I do this with a helluva lot of coffee.

2. Before long it's sewing time, no Zara this week. After lunch we sit in the sunny cockpit and (as my work is all done) mum finishes off the shoulders. This is her sewing the final stitch.

3. It's been six weeks, I reckon about 36 hours of work but it's finished. I think it's safe to say that we are both very, very proud indeed. This dress is a thing of beauty and it's been an awful lot of fun and deeply, deeply satisfying.

4. As the evening stretches out, the nerves really kick in. I remember this from appearing on stage when I was young. All you can thing is 'why do I do this to myself'.

5. Ironing done, bags all packed I spend a solid twenty minutes crying over Downton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.