Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Black-capped Chickadee, Yard Bird # 8

Been running around like a chicken (or is it chickadee?) with my head cut off today!  In the midst of it all, the lens I rented for the trip to Arizona was delivered late this morning, so naturally I wanted to take it out for a little spin.

The lens is a Sigma 100-400 zoom.  It's a bit heavier than I like, weighing in at 2.5 pounds, but the real test will be next week when I'm shooting in the dessert.  What I like so far is that the images seem very nice and crisp.  Don't yet know how it will do with birds in flight.   I find that I am having to adjust to using a zoom again after mostly shooting with prime lenses the last few years.  And the zoom direction feels awkward, but that's minor thing.

Anywho, I shot this from our deck with a very obliging subject who perched about 5 feet away.  Hoping to sneak out for a while tomorrow and take some more test shots.  We are having a new hot-water heater installed tomorrow, so not really sure how long that will take.  

One other shot taken while I was out with the Sigma of a House Finch, looking very red - Click HERE

Meanwhile, Charlie is sitting behind my monitor on my desk, peeking over the top and purring so loud that I'm surprised the desk isn't vibrating.  It is the "rub my ears" time of day for him...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.