WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

First snow

This one's for Tickytocky, just to make him feel homesick for the sacred mountain! Driving back to Begur today, I had a glorious view of Canigou from the autoroute. But frustratingly, because of roadworks all the rest areas with good views were closed. I did my best from this one; even standing on a picnic table didn't help. Here is Tickytocky's much closer view from a couple of weeks ago. It isn't the highest peak in the Pyrenees by any means, but its distinctive shape really stands out against the lower ones around it.

This evening I decided to try photographing the sunset with my new camera (I don't get to photograph sunsets at home because we almost never see them). It has a special "scene"mode for this, so in the spirit of experiment I tried it. Not impressed. F14 and 1/800? You couldn't see a thing, except for the sun! My experiments with manual settings resulted in a correct exposure of f8 and 1/100. But by then the sun had mostly disappeared from view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.