Reading Lamp circa 1930's Repair

A rainy afternoon today, perfect for puttering around in my shop.

A reading lamp from the 1930's is one of our family "heirlooms".

My brother and I accidentally broke this lamp sometime in the mid to late 1950's while roughhousing.

Our parents were away for that afternoon. So as to avoid the trouble we were in, before they returned, we hastily repaired the wood as best we could where the lamp fixture had snapped off.

Our repair was less than perfect and it failed the next time the lamp was knocked over, which was quite soon there after.

Over the years the lamp's broken area has failed and has been repaired again, and again, and again... the tripod legs of the base makes this a quite tippy lamp which does not help the situation with three boys in the house.

Fast forward 55 years. The lamp is still with me. In our move to Eugene earlier this year it was broken yet again!

So once again, I have effected a repair. This time I used maximally strong epoxy glue and the best of my repair skills (honed to a fine edge by continuing the tradition of breaking and repairing stuff over the last 55 years).

It is quite a tickle to have the opportunity to repair it one more time.

I can hardly wait to show this photo to my brother who was my partner in the original crime so long ago now.

Larger view:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.