Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

The Labyrinth

Today was the last day of the microCARS conference in Naurod. I wanted to explore the grounds of the Wilhelm-Kempf Haus as on their website the Google translation function told me there was a labyrinth.

Now, I figured it probably meant maze, but I couldn't help get all excited at the prospect of meeting the goblin king himself, or perhaps Pan. So during the morning coffee break, off I trotted into the deep, dark, mysterious woods.

I was greeted by what can't realistically be called a maze OR a labyrinth! It was a collection of logs strewn on the ground in roughly concentric circles. More of an annoyance to walk across than a maze.

In spite of this, it did have a creepy other-worldly feel to it, being covered as it was in thick lush green moss and these bright yellow sulphur tuft mushrooms. I couldn't help snapping these beauties!

I had a great time at the conference, it's always nice meeting up with the coherent Raman scattering gang. They're a fun bunch! I wasn't overjoyed at coming home at midnight after a long drive back from Heathrow, but it was absolute bliss to climb into bed with my lovely husband as he sleepily snuggled up to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.