Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Happy Birthday Gram

One hundred twenty years ago today my grandmother was born in Buffalo, New York.  She is the only one of my grandparents not born in Italy, as her parents had emigrated a few years before.  She was a huge influence in my life and I loved her dearly.  She lived well past 99 years, just missing her 100th birthday by a few months.  She lives on in the memories of all of those whose lives she touched.  I miss you, Gram!

This photograph was taken and developed by my father around 1972.  He loved photography and was always drafting family members as subjects.  When I got married and moved out of the house, he immediately set up a studio and darkroom in my old room.  I am happy to have most of his photographs, which I treasure.  This has always been a favorite and I'm sorry that I couldn't really do it justice by photographing it but I really wanted to share it today.

I am grateful that I can still feel the love of my family members who have passed on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.