Plus ça change...

By SooB

Light

Great light this morning.  I don't think I caught it here so well, but it was that familiar (here) steely but diffuse light you get when the winter mist is lifting to give you a blue sky day.

So, the MoT (CT) went as well as could be expected: there's a check engine light I need to get rid of (I hate that I know how to do that) and it will (as we knew) need new tyres.  The interesting fact was that the tyres were on back to front.  Apparently this type have arrows to show you which way to put them, and ours were set in reverse.  Interesting, given how we were totally ripped off for fitting them.

Anyway, home then to indulge in some light legal work, lunch and then a trip north east to buy a bunch of plants from a very lovely man who - turns out - is our old electrician's dad.  The old electrician (Sebastien le Grand) was there - though it took me a while to recognise him.  Funny though, I was just thinking about him the other day.  Anyway, once he feels better (he's been signed off sick) he may come and help us with some work.  And I hope I boosted his confidence by talking him up to his dad (no lies - he was a really diligent electrician, unlike the other Sebastien who did no work and we had to ask for him to be taken off the job).

Anyway, I had a super long chat with the lovely Electrian-Dad-Plant-Selling-Man and he ended up giving me a bunch of free plants and a freshly laid 'golden egg' (it was still warm) - see extra.  Such eggs are from a breed of chicken called Marans which (from what I could see) were very bonny and quite friendly.  CarbBoy had the egg for his dinner and he pronounced it 'extra eggy'.  I guess that's the freshest egg any of us lot have ever tasted!

Oh, and I fixed another two lamps.  Just saying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.