Red Squirrel

By JJRW

By Way Of A Change ...

LARGER.

I'd planned to blip yet more 'shrooms today - but after yesterday's beautiful discovery I felt that anything else would be a total anti-climax. It almost made me feel like I should stop blipping there and then - I mean, how on earth could I follow that?

So I was very relieved, when I came home from work and went out to feed Tom, to find this little cricket on my cottage wall. Tom had to wait for his feed for a while whilst I grabbed some shots of it. At least it's a total change from fungi ....

I did take a walk into Bracondale wood lunchtime, however, and found a substantial size area where there are spiny Puffballs emerging in clumps all over the place. I managed a few shots I was quite happy with, then on the way back to the office stopped for a few minutes to admire once more the fairy-tale tree stump I blipped yesterday. As I stood admiring it, a lady stopped and commented on it - she then asked if I'd seen the stunning bracket fungus on a tree a short distance away a few weeks earlier. No, I said, what bracket, what tree? She kindly took me to it, but alas by now the fungus had vanished completely. She reckoned that when she first spotted it she'd thought someone had thrown a fluorescent red and orange sock into the tree - then on close inspection realised it was the most amazingly coloured bracket fungus. Still, at least I now know which tree to keep an eye on - and as happened with my Ent pal some weeks ago, when one appears there can well be others of the same type to follow, so I'm gonna watch that one like a hawk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.