To Boldly Go...

OK I officially *love* night photography now.

I can't *wait* for the night on darkest Winter when it snows under the light of a full moon, and I can get onto the top of the moor and photograph the Sentinels casting deep shadows on the unbroken snow.

Or the same scene but with the tiniest sliver of a moon, a 'shard' casting no light but providing a beautiful reflection in the small lake at the top of the moor (OK it might be frozen but that presents some brilliant opportunities too).

It's a whole new challenge and I love it!

I went up to the top of the moor this evening to experiment a bit. I had it all to myself (as far as I know... it was dark...) and it was brilliant. I tried lots of ideas, exposures, angles, unable to really see what I'd got till I got home (heart pounding as the files appear one by one as thumbnails on the PC).

The sky had patches of starlight amongst the clouds and I spent some time just pointing up and trying different ideas. This was my favourite because when I saw it on the camera I thought the cloud had ruined it, but when I saw it on the PC and levelled it out I thought the clouds gave it movement and dramatic effect.

If you ever hear me whinging about the lack of daylight hours, you have my permission to give me a good hard stare.

(Migraine abated today - was left with the residual headache and my voice is disappearing (no idea why) - I can cope with the headache - compared to migraine that's easy!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.