Not Alone

Stood alone at night on top of the moor with the light of the moon, it's an incredible sight to take in the vast vista of lights.

I enjoyed looking round while my camera did the work with the long exposure, the distant noises of planes and thrum of traffic. It was like just stepping outside of the world for a few minutes but still seeing it all going on. Hard to describe.

I had the moortop to myself for the most part, but for a minute or two I got chatting to a couple walking an elderly neighbours dog. The dog was a rescue and something in his past meant that he was terrified of other dogs, people making sudden movements etc. So taking the dog for walks on the moor at dark was the only option, avoiding people and other dogs.

I thought about it later as people do ask if it's scary nightwalking, or if I'm worried a boogieman might jump out. I never feel unsafe when out and about, day or night, but if I had to have an opinion, I feel safer in the dark. You're more 'attuned' when night walking I think.

Maybe not the first time you do it :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.