wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Frozen in time

The leaves that haven’t left are hidden in ice or behind things waiting to be swept, dug out or blown away. I actually raked myself last year. I was pretty proud of myself. Of course by the time I talked myself into it ......it had started to snow.
I put leaves in brown paper bags and put them up against the foundation of the house. We call this banking. It should have been done sooner in the fall but I was proud that I actually started it. Those bags of leaves are looking pretty sad today. They are wet and tired. In the spring I can put them out for the town to take them.
Until then the leaves that have escaped capture provide beauty in their own way. Well not all. Some taunt me with their wild dance of freedom. Others hide thinking I will never get them.......to them I shake my rake and scream......
Spring is coming! You are next!
Yeah I think I need a vacation.
Until then
G’day Downunder and goodnight to the north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.