Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tales from the Hide

The 3rd nor-easter of March is upon us, although it looks like we will escape the worst of it with less than 6 inches of snow total.  The snow started around 9 this morning and, after trying to get some shots through the window, I decided to set the hide up on the patio (see Extra, compliments of Hubs - and please note the camo-covered lens sticking out of a small opening in the hide!)  In spite of it being quite cold, I had a very enjoyable 45 minutes or so in the hide.  Finally collapsed it and took it into the garage to dry off, while taking myself inside to warm up in front of the fire.

Today's image is a female cardinal, cropped to show the detail of her face and that big seed-cracking bill of hers.  There were two pairs of cardinals outside today, each tolerating the presence of the other as a concession to the storm.  

Other fun sightings today were a Song Sparrow and American Tree Sparrow.  There are loads of white-throates sparrows, juncos, blackbirds and cowbirds out there along with several grackles and starlings and the usual woodpeckers, titmice, finches and chickadees.  It's snowing hard at the moment but perhaps I'll take the hide out again if it slows down a little.

Oh, and I bit the bullet last night and ordered a reconditioned MacBook 13" laptop to use for photo processing on my upcoming trips.  I ended up getting a pretty good deal on it through eBay.  I am sure that there will be a learning curve since I'm a Windows gal, but might as well stretch the brain matter a bit, eh?

Still reviewing all the wonderful Tiny Tuesday images and will post my top pics tomorrow.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.