Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Bathing in a golden flower

Still on my backblip odyssey to catch up with the last week. We returned home on Saturday from our night at friends near Falkirk just as the Forth Valley fog cleared and I managed to capture this image of a tiny hoverfly on a Calendula flower in our garden. Incidentally, it is the same flower as featured in this blip. I think the hoverfly is probably either the Chequered Hoverfly, Melanostoma scalare or (as a result of doubts sown by a Twitter correspondent) a physically quite similar species, Platycheirus scutatus. Anyway, it is always a joy to see these tiny, shiny black hoverflies in the garden. I can't bring myself to kill one to identify them properly and so the uncertainty can remain for now!

Photographic observation - this was, as usual, taken on my HTC phone camera, and I was tickled to see my head and shoulders reflected in the beautifully shiny carapcae of the head and thorax of this insect, along with the flash of the phone camera, which is also reflected in all the little water droplets on the flower. That reflection may be as close as you will get to seeing me in my own blipfoto stream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.