An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

'A Shot in the Park'...

Autumn's in full swing but no sunshine means either no photography, or dull dull and lifeless pictures.

Or, I could make my own 'sunshine' and taking my use of fill-in flash from the last couple or so blip entries a whole step further, I decided to experiment with my big (my top of the range Sigma flashgun that I used for the Carnival recently) plus the Nikkor 17-35mm f2.8.

So, I flashed away in one of our local Parks. As an official contributor to the Parks department and with easy access to its Head, I had extra incentive, especially as I was originally approached by them for my creativity...

In the end I had many ultrawide images with bright and colourful foregrounds and blended in backgrounds and such but in the end, I decided to go for this striking effect. Flash has caught the bright carmine fronds, and my Tamron 90mm macro lens rendering them bitingly and the background remaining obviously what it is.

This background was actually a rather garish and lurid bright green, so I removed almost all yellow (surprisingly, that includes most greens) and replaced with a sepia 'photo' filter.

Speaking with a successful local artist at her exhibition only an hour earlier I had already made up my mind to create something a little bit different - she has her palette and imagination; I have both of these, only my medium is different.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.