Spire In a Spin!

A couple of days ago, when I put up the pic of the Spire framed by autumnal leaves, I said that I'd been 'experimenting'. With drab, crap days since, I've been back twice and finally get to put one up.

Same viewpoint as two days ago, but already the leaves have browned and withered and a different lens as I tried some zooming shots, too.

I'm sure you can see what I've done - same blip of flash from the tiny pop-up unit on a wideangle, as before, but longer exposure and a quick, sharp twist of the wrists at the same time. In theory, the flash should register the leaves at the beginning of the exposure and whilst I'm thinking of reacting, the Spire registers, then a bit more where the camera angle ends up.

Quite hard work - full-frame Nikon D700 & all-metal Nikkor 17-35mm f2.8 are a weighty combo and results very patchy - and passers-by all look at you, like you're looney, which I suppose one must be. But, it's good to get creative again.

Attempts at rear-curtain flash (the flash goes off at the end of the exposure) didn't really work and the zooming too just complicated things and looked messy. Simplicity is a key thing, here!

Quite a lot of Photoshop exposure fiddling, including adding a quite large amount of vignetting, to hold it all in. And some added sharpness to help define the outlines.

Who says you can't be creative in DULL weather?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.