Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ships Log - Day 6 - Costa Rica

Up early to grab some breakfast before disembarking the ship and finding our private tour guide in the sea of locals selling tour services.  Fortunately, Herme had a big sign with my name on it, so we hopped into his nice air-conditioned car and off we went.

Our first stop was a beautiful rain forest preserve (Tortuga, I think?) where we left the cab and boarded a very old, beat up pickup with me in the cab and Hubs, Herme and a couple of other people in the back bed of the truck!  That’s probably when Hubs was certain we were being kidnapped.  But, after a bumpy ride high up the mountain, we got out and began a 1.5 mile hike down a very rough trail in the rain forest.  Walking “bamboo’s” provided.  The best part for me was seeing both Red and Green Poison Dart frogs - wow, so amazing.  Also Leafcutter ants and a two-toed sloth, just hanging out.

A little fruit and water before we headed to the river to meet William, the owner of the guide service who was to be our captain as we sailed the river for several hours.  We saw a wonderful array of wildlife, including a number of new (for me) birds, several bands of Howler Monkeys, three-toed sloths, caiman, iguana and these fabulous “Jesus Christ Lizards” - so called for their ability to run across the surface of the water.

This one is a male, and probably measuring about 2 feet with the tail.  He had either been eating some sort of red fruit or something with blood (they are omnivores, so either possible) which accounts for the red around his muzzle.  He was such a gorgeous creature that he simply had to be my blip today.  

Once I am home, I’ll post some of the fabulous birds we saw on Flickr and provide a link.  Too cumbersome to do from the ship.

I’m continuing to heal.  My knee is starting to itch a bit under the dressing which is a good sign, and the swelling in my wrist and elbow is almost gone.  Still sore and sporting some colorful bruises, but definitely healing.  We have nothing really planned for the last 3 days of the cruise, so I expect to be nearly 100% by the time we arrive back in NJ.


Thanks for stopping by.  And please forgive my lack of comments.  The internet on the ship is expensive and slow.  


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.