La vida de Annie

By Annie

Don Carlos.

Today's main event was a property shoot for a villa in the resort I scoped out yesterday - the house numbering and road naming can be a little eccentric so I wanted to know where I would be going. It was an initial paid test shoot for a rental company, on the understanding that if it met their very detailed criteria it would lead to more jobs around the island, so I really wanted it to go well. Sadly the weather, though not raining, was grey so no nice blue skies, and the property was a little tired and poky. The rooms were too small to get the whole space in shot (very wide lenses were frowned upon because of the side distortion, though in retrospect I should have taken one anyway). It was also very dark with little natural light, and using a flash didn't always give a better result. The fact that the company insisted on a 4:3 crop also meant that with a full-frame camera the 6:4 RAW images had to lose the edges. Did my best anyway with partial room shots and the pool (needed leaves cloning out), and still have editing to do. The experience left me very dissatisfied - I have done property shoots of wonderful places previously, which were a joy - but the specification to make the place look vibrant and welcoming didn't quite work out. Maybe if the place had new furniture, nice decorative focal details, a view and a garden it would have been easier. A perfectly serviceable place to spend a holiday I guess but a bit depressing, just like the resort in general.
Equilibrium was partially restored by a nice Americano at the new restaurant which has recently opened in the village. And the sun came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.